Crisis Communications

Even well-managed institutions face certain crises requiring dedicated public relations assistance. In a time of crisis, expert guidance can be invaluable in helping to protect your institution’s reputation while you focus on recovery and managing the crisis’ physical and legal aspects. For members with both general liability (GL) and educators legal liability (ELL) coverage, our ProResponse® program includes crisis communications support.

Take advantage of this benefit when you need expert communications guidance to help you through difficult times. Application of this benefit does not have to be tied to a liability occurrence or wrongful act by your institution.

United Educators (UE) members may select a crisis communications firm of their choice as long as the provider has crisis communications experience and doesn't provide legal services or legal advice.

The following list includes pre-approved crisis PR firms:

The Abernathy MacGregor Group, Inc.

New York, N.Y.
www.abmac.com


Rhonda Barnat, Managing Director
rb@abmac.com
Primary phone: (212) 371-5999
Cell phone: (917) 912-6378

Fleishman-Hillard International Communications

St. Louis, Mo.
www.fleishman.com


Ken Fields, Senior Vice President & Senior Partner
Ken.Fields@fleishman.com
Primary phone: (314) 982-0556
Cell phone: (314) 640-2529

AKCG – Public Relations Counselors

Glassboro, N.J.
www.akcg.com


Chris Lukach, CEO
chris@akcg.com
Primary phone: (856) 866-0411, ext. 115
Cell phone: (201) 615-5861


Mike Gross, President
mike@akcg.com
Primary phone: (856) 866-0411, ext. 117
Cell phone: (856) 793-5372

G.F. Bunting

San Francisco, Calif.
www.gfbunting.com


Ralph Frammolino, Senior Executive
ralph@gfbunting.com
Primary phone: (800) 434-3381
Cell phone: (213) 800-2445

Bennet Group

Honolulu, Hawaii
www.bennetgroup.com


Joan Bennet, President and CEO
joan@bennetgroup.com
Primary phone: (808) 531-6087, ext. 101

McDowell Jewett Communications

Hartford, Conn.
www.mcdowelljewett.com


Duby McDowell, President
mcdowell@mj-comm.com
Primary phone: (860) 247-9100, ext. 101
Cell phone: (860) 729-2200

The Castle Group

www.thecastlegrp.com


Boston Office
Sandy Lish, Principal/Founder
slish@thecastlegrp.com
Primary phone: (617) 337-9500
Cell phone: (617) 285-5878


Atlanta Office
Philip Hauserman, Vice President
pthauserman@thecastlegrp.com
Cell phone: (404) 808-5531

Polaris Public Relations

Boston, Mass.
www.polarispr.net


Karen Schwartzman
kschwartzman@polarispr.net
Primary phone: (617) 437-9990

RW Jones Agency

www.rwjonesagency.com


Los Angeles Office
Sean Rossall, CEO and Managing Partner
sean@rwjonesagency.com
Primary phone: (323) 999-5201
Cell phone: (310) 210-7586


New England Office
Maggy Ralbovsky, Executive Vice President and Managing Director
maggyr@rwjonesagency.com
Primary phone: (603) 756-4111
Cell phone: (603) 313-7707


Pittsburgh Office
Scott Willyerd, President and Managing Partner
scott@rwjonesagency.com
Primary phone: (724) 260-0198
Cell phone: (614) 204-7438

Sard Verbinnen & Co.

www.sardverb.com
Primary phone: (212) 687-8080


George Sard, Chairman and Co-CEO
gsard@sardverb.com


Paul Verbinnen, Co-CEO
pverbinnen@sardverb.com

Fineman PR

San Francisco, Calif.
www.finemanpr.com/crisis-communications


Michael Fineman, President
mfineman@finemanpr.com
Primary phone: (415) 392-1000, ext. 21
Cell phone: (415) 309-3811